top of page

Pre-Flight Prep

Once you've been approved to embark on the experience of a lifetime...what happens next? Here are some of the ways I've been getting myself ready during the months before my flight to Scotland - it's only 2 weeks away now!


 

1. Meeting Flatmates

Similar to Susquehanna University's O-Team, the University of Stirling has an F-Team. Over the summer they've set up private Facebook groups for the incoming "freshers" and for each housing community. Through these groups, I've been able to connect with 5 girls I will be sharing a flat with. I was excited to find out that 3 of them are from the United States, one is from France, and the other girl is from the Czech Republic. We've chatted a bit over the past few weeks, and I'm comforted by the idea that we'll all be able to navigate living in a new country together!


2. Shopping with Strategy

I've been trying to save most of the earnings from my summer job for my semester abroad. I figure, I could spend $15 on iced coffee every week, or use that same $15 to eat out in Scotland, which seems like a much more memorable use of that money. With that mentality, I made a list of all of the things I already owned that I would want to take with me. The remaining items I'd need to buy, like a sturdy pair of winter boots and a new rain coat, I looked for in outlet stores and in clearance sections.


3. Watching Scottish YouTubers

The Scottish commonly speak English, but between their slang and thick accents, they might as well be speaking another language. To hopefully train my ears to understand Scottish speech better before I go, I've been watching Scottish YouTubers like Jamie Genevieve. Alternatively, some of the other girls I will be living with have been watching Scottish news segments and the STARZ original TV show Outlander.


4. Researching Scotland - Travel Guide

The most valuable step I have taken to prepare was creating a 'travel portfolio,' as a semester long assignment for my GO-prep class. My professor had us research information such as where the closest US Embassy is located to our place of study, the area's crime rate, who the political leader is, and what modes of public transportation are available. This was extremely helpful, because I definitely would not have thought to educate myself to this extent without guidance. Instead of relying on guide books alone, I now also have my own personalized collection of information.


5. Staying Connected Online

The processes for class registration, housing applications, and smaller things like getting a student ID card are different for visiting students. If you are preparing to go abroad, make sure you are staying connected online! When I was accepted to study at the University of Stirling, I was given a student email through their Outlook server and was able to create an account for their student portal. This is where I submitted my passport/visa information, signed the student housing agreement/contract, and was able to view my schedule for the semester.


6. Looking into Logistics

Besides booking flights and planning weekend trips, I've also had to research less exciting things like whether or not my bank charges international fees, and how to go about setting my phone up for international service. I'm glad I didn't wait until the last minute, because I found out that my bank offers currency exchange, but I have to submit an order for pounds sterling two weeks in advance. I also learned that it is much cheaper to buy a prepaid sim card upon arriving instead of switching to an international plan through my phone provider. Most major networks in the US have minimal coverage abroad anyway. Giffgaff is a popular provider in the UK that has been recommended to me by multiple sources.


 

Thank you for reading about what I've been doing this summer in preparation for my study abroad program. If you are planning a trip as well, I hope I've given you some ideas of things to do while you countdown the weeks until your departure.


This is my first blog post, so I'd love to hear any constructive criticism you may have! Please don't hesitate to comment your thoughts on this post, or reach out to me on the social media links below.


Love,

Emily Renee

 
bottom of page