top of page

Exploring Edinburgh

A week ago I was wandering the hilly wynds and closes of Scotland's historical capital city. This weekend I am writing midterm essays on Greek tragedies and Modernist literature.. I wish all Sundays could be spent sightseeing!



The Milkman



Grabbing a snack from a small, preferably Instagram-famous, coffee shop in each new city or town I visit has become a tradition for me. This is a great way to (1) revive yourself with caffeine after traveling by bus, train, or plane, (2) get a taste of the local vibe, and (3) start your artsy Snapchat story off strong.


National Museum of Scotland



With free admission and 5 floors of exhibits of all sorts, this place is a lot like the Smithsonian, condensed into one building.


Art of the Living Gallery

Royal and upper class families were extra beyond comparison. You haven't seen bougie until you've seen the hand-carved ivory snuff boxes and hair brushes of the 19th century.



Scotland Transformed

This exhibit was one of my favorites because there were so many items on display from Scottish culture throughout the country's entire history. My friends and I are a bit obsessed with the show Reign, so I really enjoyed seeing all of the objects tied to Mary Queen of Scots and her son, King James VI.



The Royal Mile


The museum is located along the Royal Mile, surrounded by dozens of shops, pubs, and other historical sites. At the end is the Edinburgh Castle, which I visited after having dinner at a pub.



Diagon Alley


There is a special spot for Harry Potter fans in Edinburgh. Victoria Street is rumored to have been J. K. Rowling's inspiration for Diagon Alley. Today, this is commemorated by shops to fit the theme of wizardry and pop culture, such as The Boy Wizard and a joke shop (Aha Ha Ha) that is reminiscent of Fred and George's business adventure in both the book and movie series, Weasley's Wizard Wheezes.


Haunted Attractions


I didn't get the chance to go on any ghost tours this time, but I plan on visiting again as Halloween approaches to go on a guided walking tour of Edinburgh's Old Town Vaults. There are bus tours as well but I can't think of a better, or spookier, way to learn about the ghosts of Edinburgh than on foot after sunset. Wish me luck!




bottom of page