top of page

Christmas Markets

European countries are known for the best Christmas markets in the world, so last week I decided to go check out what 2 of Scotland's cities had to offer.


Glasgow


Tuesday I went to Glasgow, where St. Enoch Centre hosts a market all November, central to the city's higher end shopping district. This market was definitely smaller than I had expected, honestly I've been to ones in New York or Philadelphia with twice as many vendors. Our biggest disappointment, however, was that there weren't really any handmade goods being sold. Still, this was a fun hour-long activity. My friend and I supplemented the lack of stalls with a visit to the Gallery of Modern Art. We also enjoyed popping into shops along Argyle and Buchanan Street that were also decked out in Christmas lights, contributing to the holiday atmosphere.



Edinburgh


My trip to Edinburgh's Christmas market the very next day was much more in line with my expectations. The market itself was spread across multiple levels of the East Princes Street Gardens, with both commercial and local artisan vendors. Down the steps from the main rows of stalls was a mini carnival, Santa Land, with a Christmas tree maze, Ferris Wheel, children's rides, and an Italian Trapeze that stood higher than the church's steeple.


Some of the vendors were a bit repetitive, with multiple stalls selling the same mass produced scarves that can be bought in pretty much any tourist shop across the country. I even noticed a few selling the same brands of chocolates and fudges that I'd passed by in Glasgow the day before. I was pleased, however, that the majority of vendors were selling items with more sentimental value - like hand carved wooden ornaments and stuffed animals sewn out of tartan cloth.



Afterwards, while walking around the city with my friends, our attention was drawn to an attraction called Silent Light, at the end of George Street. Visitors could pay to listen to different music playlists as they walk through the light shows throughout the day, but we were still able to get a taste of the experience walking along the sidewalks beside it for free.



Ultimately, I don't think the Scottish Christmas markets I visited were wildly different or superior to any that I have been to in America. This slight disappointment just makes me want to someday visit the Christmas markets in countries like Austria even more! I have spent most of my time in Glasgow and Edinburgh in museums, so dedicating these two days to exploring the shopping districts was a fun way to experience a different side of these cities and get into the holiday spirit.

bottom of page